To Wake Up or Not to Wake Up?… That Is The Question

Have you ever had one of those mornings where you just could not wake up? I have them a lot. But this morning was probably the worst one in awhile. I figured it would be hard to get up this morning. It was day 2 of being back to morning workouts. The first week is always the hardest. I made sure I laid everything out last night, and went to bed by 9 PM.

And yet this morning, I could not get up. I woke up briefly before my alarm went off, shut it off, rolled over and went back to sleep. I laid there and I could hear that voice inside my head telling me to get up and go to the gym. But I couldn’t break my body out of that paralyzed slumber. Even when my fiance came in to say goodbye as he left for work, I could barely wake up.  I know part of this was due to a massive headache . But, the other part was that my body just did not want to be awake. After another hour or so of dead sleep, I got up.

Once I rolled out of bed, I still could barely wake up. A shower and a cup of coffee didn’t wake me up either. Needless to say, it was a rough morning. I think I finally felt “awake” by about 8:30 AM. And I say “awake” loosely as it took another coffee on the way to work and a cappuccino this afternoon to keep me functioning.

The one plus side – I’m not beating myself up about not getting to the gym. I knew that if I didn’t make it this morning, I would still get to ride tonight. Which would be my daily workout. I had just hoped I would get two workouts in today. Oh well!

Back to the new normal morning routine tomorrow.

Gym  – Shower – Coffee – Get ready – Food prep for the day – Work – Home/Dinner/QT with my other half – Sleep – Repeat

Have you ever had trouble just getting out of bed in the am? What’s does a typical morning routine look like for you?

2 thoughts on “To Wake Up or Not to Wake Up?… That Is The Question

  1. Do I have trouble getting out of bed in the morning?! Every. Damn. Day. I have to be to work by 8am, and it takes me about 45 minutes to get to work, so I have to leave my house by 715 if I want to make it on time. This is how I would like my morning to go:
    6am: alarm clock get up
    Eat breakfast
    Shower
    Hair/makeup
    Make lunch for the day
    Get dressed
    715 leave for work

    Here’s how my day generally goes :
    6am alarm clock lay in bed on Facebook
    620 am get out of bed
    Shower
    Hair/makeup
    Get dressed
    Grab a soup for lunch I’m running late
    720 out the door and late for work

    I’ve gone so far as deleting Facebook from my phone to solve this problem, but then found Instagram, Pinterest, and other apps to take up my time.

    Next plan: putting my alarm clock on the opposite side of the room where I HAVE to get up and walk to turn it off.

Leave a Reply

