I run.

After being away from the blogging world for nearly 6 weeks, I’m back. Hopefully on a more normal schedule. After attempting to run 2 blogs (3 if you count the photography business as well), I started to get overwhelmed and realized that there just wasn’t enough time in the day to do that. Trying to figure out content for each blog was nearly impossible and it had to stop. So as of today, my ‘health’ blog is officially done. I’m coming home to the blog that started it all. It’s all about me and my crazy life, and I couldn’t want anything more.

I’ll call it my ‘life blog with a health twist’ since my current goal is to get healthy.

Ever since the Boston Marathon Bombings a week and a half ago, I’ve felt the need to write. Whenever something big happens, I blog about it. I was started to blog when there was something momentous instead of blogging for the love of it. So instead of writing, I started running. There are enough posts out there about it. In all honesty, I don’t have the words to describe the unthinkable, horrific tragedy that happened so close to home; in the city that I love. I may not have ever lived in Boston, but I consider myself a Bostonian. I was glued to the reports every day for a week. I lived and breathed what happened, like everyone else, but I couldn’t write about it. There were, and still aren’t, any words to describe this event.

So, I ran. As horrible as the tragedy was, it gave me a new form of motivation, like many people. I wanted to run. I wanted to do something that I knew some of these people may not do for a long time. I wanted to run for them. I wanted to run for Boston.

So here I am, in the middle of  Week 2 of Couch to 5K, feeling good about myself. I’m a terrible, slow, runner, but I’m doing it. I started somewhere and I’m going to finish. I’m not going to stop this time. In 7 more weeks, I will be a runner. And that is what is getting me through. Every time I get a cramp in my side or my lungs start to burn, I remind myself that I can do this. I remind myself not to give up. And I push through. I remind myself that I’m not running for me; but running for Boston.

Now, I will probably never run the Boston Marathon (never say never, right?), but in my mind, just being able to accomplish a 5K would be one of the best accomplishments in my life thus far.  Our plan is to aim for a Fall 5K – that way once I’m doing with the training program (which will be right around my birthday in June), we can keep working on the running and speed part. But who knows, as I get closer, I may just feel the need to sign up for some form a race just to give a go!

2 thoughts on “I run.

  1. This blog is amazing Eryn…..you have the best spirit. As always, you make us proud. Running for others who may never run again…..what a great way to honor them. Love you!

Leave a Reply

