The 3 Day Diet — Day 1

I’m not one to try out ‘fad’ diets, but when I heard of one that boasts ‘Lose up to 10 pounds in 3 days!’, I’ll admit, I was intrigued. Once I found out a friend was partaking in it, Nick and I decided it was time to learn more. After reading more about it (Google, Blogs, Articles), we decided we would give it a try. It’s only for three days and seemed utterly doable. It totally is a ‘fad’ diet, but whatever, I’ll go back on my word just this once.

Monday afternoon meant grocery shopping for all of the essentials. Off Nick went to the grocery store and I vowed to start the diet on Tuesday morning despite having a nasty cold. Of course, that would change if I was dying from said cold.

20130130-075552.jpg
How I felt as of Monday evening….
Source

Day 1 wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be. The real challenge wasn’t eat the foods they wanted you to eat, but not snacking in between meals. They want you to drink as much water as humanly possible (without throwing up of course…). Thankfully, I drink at least 3 Nalgenes a day, so upping that wasn’t completely insane.

Day 1 looked as follows.
Breakfast: 1/2 grapefruit, 1 slice of toast, 2 tablespoons of peanut butter and coffee or tea
Lunch: 1/2 cup of tuna, 1 slice of toast and coffee or tea (must be caffeinated)
Dinner: 3 ounces of any meat, 1 cup green beans, 1/2 banana, 1 small apple and 1 cup of Vanilla ice cream.

Breakfast was already more than I normally eat. A slice of toast with peanut butter and coffee is a typical morning for me. I learned quickly that… I don’t like grapefruit. At all. In small doses…fine. Bt shoving a 1/2 of a grapefruit down my throat…not so fine. I was surprisingly full until about 10:30 am at which point I was ravenous. Let me just tell you how excited I was for my lunch of dry tuna and toast. Seriously. I couldn’t wait to eat it.

Once lunch came, I couldn’t wait to eat. I love tuna. I hate dry tuna. I like my tuna with olives, mayo, salt and pepper. Not straight from the can. And one piece of toast? Seriously? This lunch was about a 1/4 of the size I normally eat.

Honestly, it wasn’t all that bad. I put the tuna in the bread and folded it to make a mini sub. Besides being dry as hell, it wasn’t horrible. Once I was done, I couldn’t believe how full I felt… Very strange.

Dinner was delicious. Ground turkey and green beans cooked together in salt and pepper. My apple was delicious as was my banana. And the ice cream just topped it all off. Lets see what day 2 brings!

Now the real test is to see if we actually lose weight. I weighed in at 183.4 lbs on Monday AM. I am down 4 lbs since I started this blog though! I won’t myself again until Friday morning (Thursday evening is the last meal).

Until then, I’ll keep posting updates. I’ve heard really good things and really bad things about this. Day 1 wasn’t horrible; but ask me after Day 2 since I’m not allowed to have coffee…..

Leave a Reply

