Horses and Flowers

Memorial Day Weekend. The unofficial start to summer. For many, it becomes a weekend full of graduation parties, cookouts and long hours of sitting in traffic. For me, since I was about 14 years old, it has been a horse show weekend. Now for those who don’t know, I have been riding horses since I was 9, competed until I was 22 and have since retired from the show ring and am now enjoying watching my fellow barn mates and students competing in the show ring. I don’t get too many shows anymore as my schedule just doesn’t allow for it, but with The Greater Boston Charity Horse Show just twenty minutes away in Topsfield, MA, I couldn’t help but spend as much time there as humanly possible.

In the old days, I would spend hours by the rail, camera in tow, taking picture after picture, trying to perfect my horse show picture taking skills. Nowadays, while I still love to take pictures, I tend to take pictures more of our High Tail Acres riders instead. This weekend was no exception. My zoom unfortunately does not have the capability of my previous cameras, but I was able to catch some great and memorable shots. As well as capture some great moments in the barn.

After a wonderful weekend of horses and good friends/family, today I played around with settings and did my next favorite thing – drive around aimlessly looking for a great photo op. I ended up down in Newbury on the road leading to Olde Newbury Country Club, followed by taking pictures of some unique flowers in my garden.

Enjoy! And don’t forget to ‘like’ me on Facebook!

Leave a Reply

