2012 Resolutions

For as long as I can remember, I have always made a New Year’s Resolution and I have yet to follow one through until the next year. Every year, it’s the same old “I’m going to start going to the gym regularly”, “I’m going to lose 20 pounds (or 30 or 40 depending on the year)”, “I’m going to stop biting my nails” and “I’m going to run a 5K”. I’ve yet to succeed at any of them. Although, I did lose 15 lbs last year, but I did manage to gain 10 back.

So this year – I went the anti-resolution route. Why keep making myself promises I can’t keep. It seems silly to me to promise myself these things over and over, year after year, so I’m taking matters into my own hand.

Just like my previous posts about 2011 and 2012, my only anti-resolution resolution is to make 2012 a year to remember. I’m not promising myself anything and I’m not setting an unrealistic goal for myself. The only thing I hope for as December 31st, 2012 at 11:59 pm rolls around is that I can look back and say, “Wow that was a hell of a year!”

We are already 5 days into the New Year and it’s already looking to be a good year.

In a month, I will be taking an Intro to Digital Photography course with the Newburyport Adult and Community Education Foundation.  I’m taking this class purely because I feel like it will be a good chance for me to brush up on my photography skills and really learn my new camera. Plus it will be something fun to do on Monday nights during the snowy, cold  springlike winter! (Except for this week of course – it actually feels like January this week).

I have several people interested in shoots for the coming year – always a good thing!

I intend to read as much as possible. I’m currently reading:

And I still haven’t decided how I feel about it. I’m about a quarter of the way through it. Everyone tells me it’s amazing. So I can only hope it gets better.

If you’re looking for a fantastic read, check out “The Night Circus” by Erin Morgenstern.

AMAZING. The last 100 pages grab you and don’t let go.

And I hope just enjoy my life to the fullest.

Oh – and I guess finally lose those 20 lbs (Thanks Weight Watchers).

 

Leave a Reply

